Celebrate Friendships on Valentine’s Day 2011!


January is almost over and we’re speeding ahead into February…which means Valentine’s Day is approaching!

SHOW YOUR FRIENDS YOU APPRECIATE THEM!

We often think of Valentine’s Day as gaudy and girlie. It could very well be a happy day or a bad day, depending on your relationship status. Maybe its just like any other day because you don’t celebrate it anyways. We often just do dinner with our spouse, give the typical gifts, buy a box of cartoon character Valentine’s Day cards for our kid’s classmates.  I know most people find themselves at the grocery store the night before their child’s Valetine’s Day class party. You end up getting  some conversation hearts. Maybe you already got your significant other something earlier.

Guess who you probably forgot though…YOUR FRIENDS!

Just the simple gesture of sending them a card will brighten their day. How about raising it up a notch!

Candy gets eaten and ends up on our hips. Cards get thrown away. You may not be able to see them at all in the month of February due to your conflicting schedules. Depending on your budget and your time, you could do something nice to show your appreciation for their friendship.
This is the first year I’m doing a Valentine’s Day tree. Why not? I bought a fluffy feathery tree at my favorite craft store, Hobby Lobby, last year. My intentions were to have an “Easter Tree”. So I hung some egg ornaments on it and it was small enough to put on my fire place mantel. It was cute. I packed it away and didn’t think about it till I started getting the urge to decorate for Valentine’s Day. So I pulled it out of storage and went online to find cute Valentine’s Day ornaments and garland.

Christmastraditions.com has really cute ornaments for every holiday.

So this year, I’m sending my closest friends a Valentine’s Day gift they can bring out every year. I found an inexpensive Valentine’s Day tree  on Terrysvillage.com. Under $10 before tax and shipping.
That site accepts Retailmenot.com coupons as well for larger purchases.
I know the tiny tree will work well with my friend’s decor. I’m having it shipped directly to him.

A friend of mine up state has 2 little kids. Instead of sending candy, I ordered a personalized puzzle with their names on it from Personalizationmall.com. This site also accepts Retailmenot.com coupons. The kids can put it together and use puzzle glue to preserve it.

As for my friend, their mother, I’ve assembled a few things she can use in her kitchen with the kids. A sparkly plastic heart shaped plate from Target, a Valentine’s Day dish towel (from a pack of 2) and a set a Valentine’s Day sprinkles and cookie cutters from Target ‘s value bins. This is an inexpensive gift, but its reusable!

She can make memories with the kids by baking cookies with them every Valentine’s Da y from here on out. These items don’t have to be expensive, but I want them to be reusable and enjoyed year after year. To put this all together, I’ve placed all the items on the plate and wrapped it in pink cellophane wrap (available at Hobby Lobby, also in other colors).

I bought a couple of spools of Valentine’s Day ribbon from the value bins at Target. You don’t get much, but you get just enough to tie up cookie cutters together and tie off the cello wrap.

DON’T FORGET THE BABYSITTER!

We love our babysitter. She’s a newly wed and soon to be home owner. She’s moving from a condo to a house. Valentine’s Day is one of her favorite holidays.  I found some really neat keep sakes and housewares she can use years to come.

Since she’ll be entertaining a lot after she moves into her new home, I got her a pretty but inexpensive Valentine’s table runner from Partycheap.com. I liked it so much, I ordered one for my table! Under $7 for a 6ft runner!

She loves to table scape, so the runner is right up her alley. I found a cute 2 tier sweets dish with hearts and polka dots. She’s a big polka dot fan, so once again…its PERFECT! I put in a couple of dish towels, cookie cutters and cookie sprinkles. Because this is her first Valentine’s Day as a newly wed, I went on Bronners.com and ordered a personalized heart ornament, which she can hang up in her kitchen or on  a future Valentine’s Day tree. The ornament was the highest priced item, $12. Everything else was under $10.

TEACHERS!

We have to remember our kid’s teachers! I needed 5 gifts for my son’s teacher’s gifts. I found picture holders that spell out “LOVE” (like the sculpture) on partycheap.com for under $3 each. Minimum order of 6! Perfect, so I’ll have one left over. I’ll attach a school picture to them. I’ll be baking some heart shaped sugar cookies which I’ll place in Valentine’s Day cello bags. Wrap up the picture holder in Valentine’s Day colored tissue paper and place the cookies with it in a Valentine’s Day gift bag. Easy and inexpensive! I found a set of 6 petite four magnets that are decorated for Valentine’s Day. I placed each one in a tiny treat bag with a mini doilies.

GRANDPARENTS!

The grandparents in our family watch what they eat, so we don’t give them candy, usually just one large heart shaped cookie in a cello. Last year, I got an oven mitt/dish towel set from Hobby Lobby. It was inexpensive, about $11. I just placed it in a gift bag with tissue. Just a little something to brighten up their kitchen for Valentine’s Day. Of course, a home made Valentine’s Day card from the kids were given.

If you search for these items ahead of time, in early January for instance, a lot of sites have sales. Valentine’s Day seems to be an after thought.


Friends are special to us too! Why not show them you appreciate their friendship. Of course, we don’t want to just give material things. We need to give our friends our time, our ears for listening and our words of wisdom and encouragement. The little “material” things are just tokens.

Depending on your tastes and life styles, you could also do a Valentine’s Day Tea or brunch with your friends. Tea rooms are great places for some “friend” time. Great conversations over tea and a light lunch, is a nice break from the routine of our day. Maybe meet at a place that serves breakfast all day, like La Madeleine. Bring a little Valentine’s Day bauble for them. It’ll make them feel special.

We should appreciate our friends and family everyday, but having a set day every year helps us remember them.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Claudia de Leon
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 13:14:21

    Very nice! I love the ideas. Rock on, rockstar!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

